Skip to main content
Press Releases

URA Welcomes Appointments to the Board

The Urban Renewal Authority (URA) today (29 April 2022) welcomes the Government’s appointments/re-appointments of 13 non-executive directors (non-official) of the URA Board, for a term of three years with effect from 1 May 2022.

The four new non-official non-executive directors are Mr Chan Ka-kui, Ir Janice Lai Wai-man, Mrs Sylvia Lam Yu Ka-wai and Ms Yvonne Yeung Kin-ha; whereas the re-appointments include the Honourable Chow Chung-kong (also re-appointed as Chairman of the URA), the Honourable Vincent Cheng Wing-shun, Ms Ivy Chua Suk-lin, Mr Andy Ho Wing-cheong, Dr Lee Ho-yin, Ms Elaine Lo Yuen-man, Professor Tang Bo-sin, Ms Judy Tong Kei-yuk and the Honourable Stephen Wong Yuen-shan.

Commenting on the re-appointment, Mr Chow said, “I feel privileged to be appointed Chairman of the URA for another term.  The URA is an important institution charged with the responsibility to improve the standard of housing and the built environment of Hong Kong through urban regeneration.

The members of the Board come from a wide spectrum of professions and sectors in the community with extensive experience and expertise.  On behalf of the URA Board, I would like to extend our warmest welcome to the newly-appointed and the re-appointed members.  We look forward to working with fellow members of the Board and URA colleagues to push forward urban renewal through a holistic and forward-looking planning approach to enhance the quality of living, particularly for those in older districts of Hong Kong.”

Mr Chow also expressed gratitude to the retiring non-official non-executive directors, namely the Honourable Judy Chan Ka-pui, Mr Roger Luk Koon-hoo, Mrs Cecilia Wong Ng Kit-wah and Mr Michael Wong Yick-kam, whose term of office will expire on 30 April 2022, for their active participation and valuable counsel to the work of the URA in the past.