Skip to main content
Touching Stories

From URA work to helping people in developing countries: Taking a ‘People-first’ approach

Jackie (third from the right) and volunteers help rebuild a school for children at Cambodia affected by natural disaster.

Jackie Wong,  a project coordinator in the URA’s Planning and Design Division, has involved in the design and planning of different projects which aim to create a better living environment for the community.  At her leisure time, she also uses her expertise in helping people in the developing countries to rebuild their home and facilities.  Jackie insists that her creative designs are developed based on the “people-first” approach.   “I want to turn creative ideas into products that are beneficial to people and the community.”

Understanding the needs and expectation of the stakeholders is necessary before developing a design for “people”.   Jackie normally spends weeks, or even more time, to understand the needs, preferences and habits of different stakeholders before working on a design concept.  “My colleagues and I went to the Graham Market at different timeslots during the day to observe the consumer behaviour, the operation mode and the peak hours for the market.  We used questionnaires to learn more about preferences of customers and operators before we started to design for the Graham Market promotion.”  She also encouraged the market goers and shop operators to participate in her design. “I asked them what colour represented the market.”  Some preferred a traditional green while some preferred a vibrant yellow.” Jackie finally used both green and yellow in her design to illustrate the traditional characteristics and new life of the market.

Jackie participated in a volunteer group IDEA PROJECT comprising young designers and architects. Over the past few years, she and her teammates have gone to Nepal and Cambodia to help rebuild schools and community facilities for people affected by natural disasters. Just like what she did in the URA, she encouraged the local people in these countries to contribute in her design.   She recalled a school project in Cambodia. “Although we did not speak their language, we used body language to encourage the children to draw their favourite patterns or items. We then used their creations on the school wall and unveiled to them during the school opening day. The children were excited to see their own drawings on the wall and embraced us saying, I LOVE YOU HONG KONG.” Jackie and the team were deeply touched and would not forget the children’s happy faces.

According to Jackie, the most challenging part in taking a “people-first” approach in the design work is to balance the views of different people.  It is not easy to come up with a product which is pleasing to everybody.  Jackie talks to different people during the process.    "Say, at work, different colleagues will have different thoughts. More listening and communication can resolve the differences."  She therefore encourages more interaction and brainstorming so as to enrich her creative design with depth in both her work at URA and volunteer services.

Jackie shared a recently completed project at Nepal, which was to decorate the walls of a community centre.  Some members of her team proposed to draw a world map on the wall so as to let children learn about other countries.  However, Jackie had a different view. "As a designer, I hope to consider from the perspective of the users.  The children in Nepal may not even have knowledge about their own country, not to mention other countries in the world."  So Jackie shared her thoughts with her teammates and after many discussions they finally decided to draw a map of Nepal on the wall to let the children know more about their country.  They also encouraged the children to use their creativity to draw on the walls about the good things that they would like their country to possess.  "These drawings are their dreams for their country.  When they grow up, they may make their dreams come true by building a better living place with their own hands.”

Jackie has set a target for herself too.  She wishes to impress other people with her “people-oriented” designs as well as encourage other people to work together for creative design.  She hopes to let these people to believe that they can design a better future for themselves.   Jackie will continue to help more people in need with her creative designs through her work at URA and volunteer services.

跳到主要内容
细味人情

从市建局工作走入落后国家 本着以「人」为先 助居民更新社区

Jackie(图右三)与义工们到柬埔寨协助受天灾影响的贫苦小孩重建校园 。

在市建局从事规划及项目统筹的黄千宸(Jackie),参与了不同项目的设计和规划,为社区缔造美好的生活环境。 她亦在工余时间,利用本身设计和创作的专长,帮助一些落后国家的居民重建家园及生活设施。无论在公在私,她的创意设计都做到以「人」出发,「我希望可以将创意幻化成一些可以帮到人又帮到社会的作品。适合人用的,才称得上是好的设计。」

为「人」设计,就先要了解不同持分者的需求和期望,所以在构思创作之前,Jackie会花上数星期,甚至更多的时间,去亲身了解他们的需要、喜好和习惯。「好像我和市建局的同事一起设计中环『嘉咸市集』的推广活动时,我们特意在不同时段走到市集,了解人们喜欢买什么东西,商贩卖什么新的货品,市集在什么时间最旺场等等。又用问卷去了解商贩和客人的喜好。」她更主动邀请大家参与设计,「我问街坊他们想用什么颜色去代表市集,有人喜欢传统的绿色,有人喜欢代表活力的黄色。」结果Jackie在设计上同时用了绿色和黄色,以彰显这个百年市集的传统特色和新添的活力,商户街坊都赞好。

Jackie参加了一个由青年设计师和建筑师等组成的义工团体IDEA PROJECT。过去几年,她和这班有热诚的年青创作人曾到尼泊尔及柬埔寨等多个地方,协助受天灾影响的贫苦小孩重建学校及社区设施。 跟在市建局工作的理念一样,Jackie鼓励当地居民参与其中。「在柬埔寨建学校时,由于语言不通,不能跟小朋友沟通。我们就用身体语言,叫小朋友将心中最喜爱的图案、公仔画出来,之后我们就将他们最纯最真的画作呈现在学校的墙壁上,学校开幕那天,小朋友们见到自己的画,开心得又叫又跳又笑,还抱着我们说: 『I LOVE YOU HONG KONG』。」那一刻Jackie及团队均十分感动,小朋友用自己双手创造出自己喜欢的学校,他们那种真挚的笑容,令人难忘。

Jackie认为以「人」出发的设计,最困难的就是如何平衡各方意见,每个人都有独立想法,很难做出一件每一个人都会赞赏和喜爱的作品。Jackie选择多与人沟通。「在工作时,不同部门的同事都会有不同的想法,所以最重要是多聆听、多沟通,好多事情只要沟通就可以解决。」 所以Jackie在工作或义工层面上,都主张互动学习,集思广益,令设计创作更丰富和有深度。

Jackie亦分享了她最近完成的一个尼泊尔义工项目,这个项目是要为一所社区中心粉饰墙壁。当初有人提议在墙壁上画上一幅世界地图,好让小朋友认识到世界不同地方的国家,但Jackie却另有睇法。「作为设计人,我希望从受众的角度来看。我觉得尼泊尔的小朋友知识水平不是太高,他们可能连自己国家都未认识,要他们去认识整个世界会是十分困难的事。」所以Jackie跟义工们分享她的想法,一起讨论,一起研究,最后大家同意在墙壁上画上尼泊尔的地图,令小朋友知道自己的国家是什么模样,然后再让小朋友发挥创意,绘出他们心目中希望国家拥有的美好的东西。「说不定这群国家未来的主人翁,长大后凭双手实现儿时的梦想,共同建设美好的家园。」

Jackie有一个目标,就是希望把设计的层次推得更高,将人性化的设计感染其他人,鼓励他人一起创作,令每个人都明白和相信自己可以创造出更美好的未来。 Jackie亦会继续在工作及义工服务方面,将自己的创意和设计,帮助更多有需要的人,一同以生命影响生命。