Skip to main content
Press Releases

Urban Renewal Authority set up Four District Advisory Committees

The Urban Renewal Authority (URA) announced today (January 7) the formation of four District Advisory Committees (DAC). Over 40 residents, district dignitaries and professionals/academics have been appointed to these DACs to offer advice to the Authority with a view to facilitating the smooth implementation of projects in the districts.

In line with the demarcation of district administration, the URA Board has decided to set up seven DACs covering all urban districts and Tsuen Wan, an URA spokesperson said. To tie in with the development progress of urban renewal projects, the URA will first set up DACs in Wan Chai, Sham Shui Po, Yau Tsim Mong and Central and Western districts. 

The major responsibilities of these committees are to advise on issues relating to urban renewal, including redevelopment, preservation, revitalisation and rehabilitation, in the districts concerned. Committee members will also reflect and advise on the concerns and aspirations of the community in the districts on urban renewal, in addition to enhancing public understanding of the work of the URA.

To strengthen communication between the URA Board and the DACs, the four committees are respectively chaired by URA Board members, Mrs Peggy Lam, Professor Cecilia Chan, Miss Maria Tam and Mr Michael Lai.

Hailing from different sectors of the local community, committee members include owners, tenants, district council members, area committee members, as well as academics and experts from the planning, architecture, surveying, engineering, legal, social work professions and universities. 

The URA will also set up DACs in Kwun Tong, Kowloon City and Tsuen Wan according to the progress of project implementation in these districts in the future.